MFM Dissertation Fellowships

The Macro Financial Modeling initiative offers financial support for doctoral students in economics or other fields pursuing innovative work on macroeconomic models with financial sector linkages or related topics in this area.

Dissertation fellowships are provided with funding from the Alfred P. Sloan FoundationCME Group Foundation, and Fidelity Management & Research Company.

This research initiative works to construct better, more comprehensive models for assessing systemic risk stemming from activities in the financial sector that can impact the economy as a whole. To encourage new research in this area, we are funding relevant dissertation proposals that examine:

  • Macroeconometric models and methods with financial sector constraints
  • Software and tools that evaluate new macroeconomic models
  • Approaches to defining, measuring, and monitoring systemic risk
  • Macroprudential regulation
  • Fiscal challenges from the public sector
  • The role of accounting in financial stability


Successful proposals will be awarded up to $16,000 to support research activity. The project will fund up to six graduate students.

Current and Past MFM Fellowship Awardees

Roberto Robatto, University of Wisconsin, September 2012- August 2014

Amy Zhou, Goldman Sachs, September 2012- August 2013

Juliane Begenau, Harvard University, January 2013-December 2013; January 2014-September 2014

Luigi Bocola, Northwestern University, January 2013-December 2013; January 2014-September 2014

Ji Huang, National University, January 2013-December 2013

Andrea Prestipino, Federal Reserve Board, January 2013-December 2013

Emil Siriwardane, Harvard Business School, January 2013-December 2013; January 2014-December 2014; January 2015- June 2015

Daan Struyven, Goldman Sachs, January 2013-December 2013

Adrien Auclert, Stanford University, September 2013- August 2014

Rui Cui, DaleyTang, September 2013-August 2014

Maryam Farboodi, Princeton University, September 2013- August 2014

Yu Xu, University of Hong Kong, September 2013-August 2014

Dejanir Silva, MIT, January 2014-December 2014

Winston Dou, MIT Sloan, January 2014-December 2014

Matteo Crosgnani, Federal Reserve Board, January 2014-December 2014

Fabrice Tourre, Northwestern University and Copenhagen Business School, January 2015-December 2015

Majid Bazarbash, Carnegie Mellon Tepper School, January 2015-December 2015

Divya Kirti, IMF, January 2015-December 2015

Marco Macchiavelli, Federal Reserve Board, January 2015-December 2015

Paolo Cavallino, IMF, January 2015-December 2015

Alexander Rodnyansky, Princeton University, January 2015-December 2015

Zachary Stangebye, University of Notre Dame,  January 2015-December 2015

Philip Barrett, IMF, January 2015-December 2015

Moritz Lenel, Stanford University, January 2015-December 2015

Juan Francisco Passadore, Einaudi Institute for Economics and Finance, January 2015-December 2015

Diego Feijer, MIT, January 2015-December 2015 and August 2015-July 2016

Cynthia Balloch, Columbia University, August 2015-July 2016

Nicolas Caramp, MIT, August 2015-July 2016

Daniel Greenwald, NYU, August 2015-July 2016

Yunzhi Hu, UNC, August 2015-July 2016

Simone Lenzu, University of Chicago, August 2015-July 2016

Ye Li, Columbia Business School, August 2015-July 2016

Carl Liebersohn, MIT, August 2015-July 2016

Jan Moller, NYU, August 2015-July 2016

Aaron Pancost, University of Texas, August 2015-July 2016

Elisabeth Prohl, Geneva School of Economics, August 2015-July 2016

Ludwig Straub, MIT, August 2015-July 2016

Alonso Villacorta, Stanford University, August 2015-July 2016

Ram Yamarthy, University of Pennsylvania, August 2015-July 2016

Matteo Benetton, London School of Economics, April 2016-March 2017

Laura Blattner, Harvard University, April 2016-March 2017

Tetiana Davydiuk, University of Pennsylvania, April 2016-March 2017

Paymon Khorrami, University of Chicago, April 2016-March 2017

Victor Duarte, MIT, April 2016-March 2017

Pablo Azar, MIT, April 2016-March 2017

BongGeun Choi, City University of Hong Kong, April 2016-March 2017

Willem van Vliet, University of Chicago, April 2016-March 2017

Carlos Avenancio-Leon, UC Berkeley, March 2017-February 2018

Sarita Bunsupha, Harvard University, March 2017-February 2018

Cristian Fuenzalida, NYU, March 2017-February 2018

Daniel Green, MIT, March 2017-February 2018

Paul Ho, Princeton University, March 2017-February 2018

Alexandra Indarte, Northwestern University, March 2017-February 2018

Adam Jorring, University of Chicago, March 2017-February 2018

Yann Koby, Princeton University, March 2017-February 2018

Anton Petukhov, MIT Sloan, March 2017-February 2018

Julian Richers, Boston University, March 2017-February 2018

Samuel Rosen, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, March 2017-February 2018

Ishita Sen, London Business School, March 2017-February 2018

Quentin Vandeweyer, Sciences Po, March 2017-February 2018

Tianyue Ruan, New York University, March 2017-February 2018

Igor Cesarec, New York University

Julia Fonseca, Princeton University

Violeta A. Gutkowski, Brown University

Priit Jeenas, New York University

Gustavo Joaquim, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Pierre Guillaume Mabille, NYU Stern School of Business

Maarten Meeuwis, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Fernando Mendo, Princeton University

Roxana Mihet, NYU Stern School of Business

Stefano Pegoraro, University of Chicago

Alessandra Peter, Stanford University

Ishita Sen, London Business School

Jincheng Tong, University of Minnesota

Olivier Wang, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Yiyao Wang, The University of Chicago

Christian Wolf, Princeton University